Athletic Bilbao goalkeeper Gorka Iraizoz denied a perfectly good goal

A goalkeeper scoring a goal is a rarity in football but when it does happen it’s special. During the opening round of La Liga fixtures on the weekend, Athletic Bilbao’s Gorka Iraizoz had that special and rare moment taken away from him after a horrendous refereeing decision.

In the final minutes of Bilbao’s away game against Malaga, Iraizoz ventured into the Malaga penalty area as his side were awarded a dangerous looking free-kick. Athletic looked to have got their equaliser after Iraizoz scored with a superb header, only for it to be disallowed seconds later. We aren’t quite sure why. Poor bloke.

Posted by Natter Football

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *